1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New Member from Stanislaus County, California

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jhhess, Sep 14, 2015.

1. jhhess

jhhess Out Of The Brooder

Aug 31, 2015
    Patterson, California
    Hello All,

Just a quick intro and a huge thank you!

First the intro. I live in the hot, sticky, central valley of California where it NEVER rains, or at least it hasn't for the past 3 or 4 years. It's September and I'm still looking for ways to cool down my chickens. I have 1 husband, 2 weenie dogs, and 5 (yes, I said 5) indoor cats, and 2 lavender orpingtons which I am convinced are the most beautiful chickens in the county.

I'm a super newbie, but I'm a research freak which can be good or bad. In the case of the chickens, it's been all good. So much helpful information on this website in the forums and in the articles. I appreciate everyone taking the time to share their trials and tribulations concerning their flocks. Everyone is so kind and if there is a disagreement, which seems to be rare, there is no squabbling. Everyone just agrees to disagree. I love that.

Anyway, if there is anyone out there from Stanislaus County, particularly from around Patterson, I would love to compare notes.

Thanks Again,
    Janis

2. N F C

N F C Home in WY Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    Hi, welcome to BYC!

If you want to meet other members from CA, you can find them here:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread

It seems like there is always something new to learn about chickens (and other poultry). Have you checked out the Learning Center yet? It has a lot of good information in it. And of course, feel free to ask questions there are a lot of helpful, friendly members here.