New member from upstate NY

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Shae7889, Apr 10, 2016.

1. Shae7889

Shae7889 New Egg

Apr 10, 2016
    My name is shae and I live in upstateNY. This is my first time raising chickens. My parents had them while I was growing up but I never wanted anything to do with them. I am a proud new chicken mama of 8 pullets. I am super nervous about them just like a new mom I'm up every two hours checking on them. My boyfriend thinks I'm a little bit crazy. I'm just so new and not sure what to do

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Shae

Glad you could join the flock! Congratulations on your new pullets :celebrate Having new birds can be a little daunting and your not alone, everyone here can help you along the way. The learning centre has some great articles that I'm sure you will find most useful, here is the link ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Be sure to ask any questions that you may have. Enjoy BYC and all the chicken chat :frow

3. Shae7889

Shae7889 New Egg

Apr 10, 2016
    Thank you so much!!! It makes me feel better knowing I'm not the only nervous nelly out there

4. Yorkshire Coop

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop

:hugs

Plenty of nervous nelly's out there I promise you, me included!! I still worry about new birds and new chicks, I've got some 4 day olds and some 2 week olds, I have to check on them 100 times a day!!

I'm sure you will be fine.

5. Shae7889

Shae7889 New Egg

Apr 10, 2016
    I feel like they sleep all day and are awake all night. is there something that i can do about that? my dad told me a white light will help to keep them awake during the day, tried it and it sort of works but not always and if one chick is awake they all tend to wake up (just like my own children).

6. Yorkshire Coop

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop