New Member here from East Texas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LuvnMyFeatheredBabies, Jun 20, 2011.

1. LuvnMyFeatheredBabies

LuvnMyFeatheredBabies New Egg

Jun 20, 2011
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens? I am very new to chickens, only had them for about a month now. My best friend got my into it after she got her first two chicks. I took her to pick out two more for her birthday present, and came home with my pair of self blue dutch bantams Jack & Ella.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? Just two right now, a banty hen (Ella ~ 3 months 1 week) and a banty rooster (Jack ~ 3 months 3 weeks), I am hoping to get a couple of more hens at least for the time being. Once we move out of my in-laws house, I plan to have lots more.

(3) What breeds do you have? Self Blue Dutch Bantams

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?Again, thanks to my best friend, she told me about this site when I was considering even getting the chickens.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies? My other hobbies include reading and photography and jewelry making, among other creative ventures.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
    Hi! My name is Krystal, I currently live in Gladewater Texas. I am a married stay at home mom to my almost 6 year old son Hunter, who is my chicken helper. We also have a pair of gerbils named Mario and Luigi.

2. whiteflare

whiteflare Out of the blue

Mar 13, 2011
    Sydney
    Hullo. [​IMG] [​IMG]
    The forum's very quiet around this time [​IMG] (I'm in Australia, it gets bad for me!) but I think you'll enjoy yourself, it's a nice place, family atmosphere, etc.

1) I got my chickens about three years ago. That's how old the senile old hens are, but we've got a couple of younger girls too. [​IMG]

2) I have four. Soon to be three, I think, because one is quite ill and legarthic... [​IMG]