New member in Southern California

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by springwitty, Feb 20, 2017.

1. springwitty

springwitty New Egg

Feb 20, 2017
    Murrieta, CA
    Hello,

I'm excited to be a part of this group of chicken-adorers. I am considered the crazy chicken lady by friends and family, so it will be nice to be among like-minded craziness!

I am new to raising chickens. I currently do not have any. I had three for less than a year. I allowed them to free-range in my suburban backyard, to the dismay of my husband. We have moved into a new home and I believe that he thinks my "chicken love" was just a phase. It's not. Our compromise is that I will not allow them to roam freely in the backyard. My problem with that is that the girls are way more than egg-layers to me. They are pets and I want to engage with them. I have been searching online for just the right coop that will make everyone happy. Even if I find the right walk-in coop, hubby dear is concerned about the appearance and the flies. I'd love to hear from members with similar challenges.

I really want some new chicks soon!

Beth

2. Flock Master64

Flock Master64 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2016
    Surrounded by the Amish
    Hi springwitty. Welcome to BYC its great to have you.

I have used car aur fresheners in my coop to keep flys away and it works really well. I used vanilla sented.

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas