1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

New member in the coop!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ladywolff, Jul 22, 2013.

1. ladywolff

ladywolff Hatching

Jul 22, 2013
    Hi everyone!
    I have been "stalking" BYC for some time now, getting answers to questions I had about getting chickens for the first time. Now that I'm an old pro (I've had them for a month), I thought I would actually join BYC and have some fun with all of you fellow crazy chicken people :)
    My name is Leslie. I have 6 baby Serama's I got from Heidi at UnionHill Ranch in central California. They are Buttercup, Chanti (Chanticleer), Gideon, Dumplin, Sissy and Sassy (I am pretty sure Sassy has turned into a rooster, so now it is Sir Sassy).
    I also have two dogs. They are Shiba Inu's named Suki and Miko. Miko has made it his sole mission in life to clamp his jaws around one of my sweet, baby chickens. UGH! I hate having to keep them separated, but hopefully in time.... okay, I live in a fantasy world :)
    My wonderful husband of 1.5 years tolerates my new chicken obsession and is even building me a fantastic coop in the back yard. Okay, it was chickens or a baby... guess what he choose? But he is still wonderful.
    We each have grown children and are "starting over". A baby would have been nice, but having chickens has turned out to be funner than I ever thought possible.
    I am keeping them in our 2nd bath right now and love having them so close to me. I know when the coop is finished and it is time for them to go outdoors, I am going to be a basketcase. I am their "mama" and they love me as much as I love them... okay, maybe not quite as much but they are getting there.