New member in Virginia

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HowlinHomestead, Feb 23, 2016.

1. HowlinHomestead

HowlinHomestead New Egg

Feb 22, 2016
    Virginia
    Hello everyone! I'm new to BYC and fairly new to owning chickens! I've wanted chickens ever since I was a little girl, and I'm finally in a place that allows them.

We moved to a 5 acre home in the country July 2015. The home came with a shed in the backyard and nest boxes inside so hubby and myself installed 6 ft chicken wire run that is approximately 60' x 50' area, cut a chicken door in the side of the shed and installed a ramp. The hunt for chickens began. A co-worker purchased chicks that were sexed female in spring of 2015 and one ended up being a rooster. They kept him for as long as possible but he would chase them around the yard and they wanted to part with him, that's where I come in. I offered to take him off their hands and 'Mr. Pecky' became the first addition to the family November 2015. A week later we purchased 6 red-sex link hens and introduced them to Mr. Pecky. We have worked with Mr. Pecky and he's become more friendlier and only chases on occasion (we are working on that as well).
    Since then I incubated some of their eggs and hatched out 16 babies! The babies are currently 5 weeks old and I've uploaded images of them after they have hatched, them at approximately 2 weeks old and one taken last night at 5 weeks old. I've also uploaded pictures of the parents and the newest babies purchased from the local co-op (consists of EE, Rhode Island Red, Buff Orpington, Black Australorp, Barred Rock and red-sex link chicks) I like a little variety in my flock [​IMG]. We aren't even a year into the new house and already expanded our little family to consist of 2 goats, 3 hogs, 13 muscovies, an Indian Runner duck and meat rabbits along with my existing pack of 7 dogs and 3 cats. Let's just say I didn't bother getting my feet wet before jumping in.