New Member Intro! AMA/Poll & Thanks for having me! :-)

Do you think any of my chicks look like possible roos??

• Yes.... the bigger EE with cheeks....

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes.... the smaller EE....

• Yes..... the Rhode Island Red...

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • Yes.... the Buff Orpington...

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • No.... looks like all hens to me! ;-)

• Total voters

ChickLOVESChicks

Chirping
Jun 19, 2018
Washington State

Hello to everyone here at BYC! My name is Diana, I'm 35, and I am new to having chickens.
I have been coming to BYC for info and research on chickens in general, and now that I have owned my micro-flock for a few months, I decided I should join the community and become more involved....

I live in Washington State with my husband, and 9yr. old daughter. We have a small flock of 4. In the very near future we are starting our build on their new coop and run. I'm very excited to get them into a bigger, better place where we can socialize with them a bit more....

We originally had 6 chickens, but lost 2 to an outdoor predator attack when we were much more naive about that sort of thing... We lost a young Black Sex Link, and an even younger Blue Laced Red Wyandotte. It was a very traumatic experience, and I think about them often.

The rest of our flock is a 12-16 week old pair of "classic" Easter Eggers, sold to us as Ameraucanas. (Don't get me started on how much I've learned about the EE debate since doing my research here, and on ameraucana.org...lol). Also one 12-16 week old Rhode Island Red, and one 8-12 week old Buff Orpington.

Hoping they are all hens of course, and it looks good so far... But I will definitely be posting here asking for opinions on that issue! It seems one of my EE's is a bit bigger than it's sibling of the same age...has fluffier cheeks, and acts quite dominant. But the comb on "her" is very small, and not red at all yet. So I'm hoping she is just the alpha hen. ;-)