New Member needs lots of advice

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by SueTriesHerBest, Apr 2, 2017.

1. SueTriesHerBest

SueTriesHerBest New Egg

Apr 2, 2017
    I'm a kindergarten teacher in Southern California. Last year a mom in my class helped us hatch chicks. None actually hatched so I ended up sneaking in chicks from the feed store. Luckily my students didn't ask any questions. It was a great experience for all of us.
    This year I want to try again but hopefully with better results. Here's most important question, where do I find local fertilized eggs to hatch? I live in Redlands Ca. Anyone out there know where I can get eggs?

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, SueTriesHerBest, and [​IMG]! Great to have you aboard! A great place to inquire would be of fellow Californians in your state thread in this link:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread
    You can also post in this forum to see if there are any local hatcheries that have hatching eggs for sale: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/16/chicken-breeders-hatcheries
    Local is important when it comes to hatching eggs as getting them though the mail results in a great drop in hatch rate.
    Finally, there is this forum as well: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/36/chicken-hatching-eggs
    Hope you find what you are looking for - I know this is a project kids love! Good luck and thanks for joining BYC! [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - you have some great advice and links already so I'll just say hello!

All the best
    CT

4. Circle W Farms

Circle W Farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2016
    Antreville,SC
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC.

5. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]