Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Tach, Dec 5, 2017.

1. Tach

Tach In the Brooder

Dec 5, 2017
    hi everyone my name is natacha. I'm new to raising chickens. We (family and I) started this past summer. Our hens are just starting to lay eggs. Three out of 10 are. We're getting one blue/green egg and two different brown ones! Not sure what hens are laying what eggs yet haven't went into the coop at the right time! They are not laying every day. I'm assuming that's normal to start out if I'm wrong please do let me know! This is the first time raising laying hens. We keep any roosters that we got the same time for meat. In the spring time we would like to have some hatchlings but I need to learn about that first! Any tips are more than welcome. Not even sure what kind of birds we have at the moment. Oh I should mention that we do have ducks too. They should start laying too learning about them too!

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Flockless Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Natacha and welcome to BYC. New layers are sporadic to begin with. Fewer daylight hours can also effect laying frequency.

Here’s a link to the Articles section - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/ There you’ll find lots of information on almost every aspect of keeping chickens - from coop building ideas, to incubating eggs.

There’s a link on the page above to the Learning Centre - it’s a great resource. If you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

You may wish to consider joining your state thread as it will put you in touch with other BYC members in your area - Find Your State Thread

All the best

Pork Pie

Wickedchicken6, Tach, 007Sean and 5 others like this.
  3. Hope Hughes