Tammy Harrow

Hatching
Feb 23, 2018
Hi fellow Chicken Mamas,

I just got a new batch of chicks.
A buff orpington, a lakenvelder, and a Minorca
I had silkies a couple of years ago but they contracted Mareks and died I'm hoping this crew will be heartier.

We live on a lake in St. Augustine (with the Intracoastal a couple of blocks away) so there are always several species of wild birds close by.

I also experienced mites last time. :(
I dusted my birds with d earth but it didn't seem to help

Im fairly new to chicken raising so Any advice is appreciated.

Hi fellow Chicken Mamas,

I just got a new batch of chicks.
A buff orpington, a lakenvelder, and a Minorca
I had silkies a couple of years ago but they contracted Mareks and died I'm hoping this crew will be heartier.

We live on a lake in St. Augustine (with the Intracoastal a couple of blocks away) so there are always several species of wild birds close by.

I also experienced mites last time. :(
I dusted my birds with d earth but it didn't seem to help

Im fairly new to chicken raising so Any advice is appreciated.
welcome-group.gif

Welcome to backyard chickens!

The current best method for mites is to use Elektor(spinosad).
DE does not kill mites and likely does not protect against them.

Monitor for mites and treat with Elektor following the package instructions

Welcome to Backyardchickens.com aka BYC! :frow
:yesss:We are glad you joined our flock.
Jump right in and make yourself at home.

This video will help you learn how to navigate this site:

CURRENT COOP CONTEST click here >>#1

The 9th Annual BYC Easter Hatchalong!

Hi Tammy, welcome to the world of chicken lovers. Only joined a few days ago myself but have kept chickens for over four years and have a limited experience in comparison with other members.
I have had terrible experience with mites too, so understand your concern.