New Member

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Pak Rat, Nov 4, 2018.

  1. Pak Rat

    Pak Rat Chirping

    16
    57
    72
    Oct 28, 2018
    NW Washington, US
    Hello!

    My name is Michelle. Or Pak Rat, because I so am.
    I'm 26 and live in Washington, US. Not DC, but the great soggy northwest.

    I grew up in a family that raised lots of chickens, and ducks and geese. I had a rooster growing up who was one of the sweetest creatures I've ever known. I also had a turkey, and since then I believe turkeys are among the best human companions on the planet. I thought ducks were cute, but they ranked last on my list of "farmyard favorites," so here's my little adventure...

    Two little duckies! Well, not so little anymore. They're both about eight months old now. My girls are Marchesa the Khaki Campbell and Lilikoi the Welsh Harlequin. They live in the house with me! They have their own fully furnished duck room, and when they have diapers on, roam the home with my dog Toboe and my cat Kaydith, and occasionally the bearded dragon Milady. It's a very animal-friendly place, and yes, everybody gets along.

    It's been a fun challenge to have indoor ducks, requiring constant troubleshooting and experimentation (and adaptability and budgeting), but it's getting easier and more enjoyable all the time.

    I found BYC while doing research. It's one of my favorite resources, even though I just very recently joined. I'm really excited to be here!

    Thanks for having me!
    ~Luvducks~
     
  2. LlamaGirl4

    LlamaGirl4 Songster

    101
    375
    123
    Nov 2, 2018
    Welcome!!:frow :wee
    Glad you are here!
     
  3. HuffleClaw

    HuffleClaw Crossing the Road

    3,919
    22,357
    867
    Jul 8, 2018
    Alabama
    My Coop
    Welcome Michelle! It’s great to have you here on BYC! :welcome
     
  4. N F C

    N F C whaz sup?

    50,335
    78,959
    1,597
    Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    BYC Welcome 7.jpg

    Hi Michelle, it's nice to have you here! Thanks for joining us, make yourself at home.
     
  5. OkieChickenGal

    OkieChickenGal Songster

    610
    1,430
    201
    Nov 23, 2017
    Oklahoma
    Hello and :welcome Glad you joined us!
     
  6. Texas Kiki

    Texas Kiki Read more

  7. FishMtFarm

    FishMtFarm Guilty fluffy chicken petter...

    1,515
    2,537
    257
    Jan 2, 2017
    Lake Pleasant, NY
    Hi and welcome!!
     
  8. Chick-N-Fun

    Chick-N-Fun Feather & Fur Whisperer

    2,850
    12,091
    787
    Jun 26, 2014
    Upstate NY
    Howdy Michelle! :frow Welcome to our FUNomenal community! Best wishes and have lots of fun!
     
  9. cassie123

    cassie123 Songster

    551
    1,798
    232
    Jun 13, 2017
    Oklahoma
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!
     
  10. DobieLover

    DobieLover Free Ranging

    1,127
    5,582
    522
    Jul 23, 2018
    Apalachin, NY
    My Coop
    Hello Michelle and welcome to BYC! :frow Glad you joined.
     

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: