Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Circle K, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Circle K

Circle K New Egg

Apr 6, 2012
    Hi! I am new to BackYardChickens.com but not to raising chickens...haha

My granddad had a couple of hundred of miscellaneous chicken that he primarily used for their eggs and meat. I guess I guess the passion I have for my chickens got started at that young age. Around 5 years ago, I started with just picking up a few chickens at my local feed store and then I was hooked. I started small and now my small flock of black/red sex link chickens has evolved to close to 100 birds of various breeds. Although my first set of girls didn't make it through the second winter for some reason (I put my outside dog inside and lost most of my birds that winter), I replenished my flocks and now have Speckled Sussex, Black Copper Maran, Lavender Orpingtons, English black Orpingtons, Black/Gray/Buff/Blue Splash Silkies, Americana's, Welsummers, Black/Red Sex links, Gold Laced Cochin and a few Black Copper Maran Black/Red Sex Links mixed. I just ordered some Silver Phoenix hatching eggs and can't wait to start hatching those!....I also just purchased four assorted bantams and more red sex links from the local Tractor Supply. I am planning on getting some more Americana babies from the local feed store later this week. I have learned that joe blow off the street love the Americana breed because they lay different color eggs. I ran out of hens and had to take care of my roosters. I only have two hens left and one rooster....so I'm trying to replenish my stock of these. Once they get laying age....they start to sale...:)