Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by graceasher, Aug 22, 2013.

1. graceasher

graceasher New Egg

Aug 21, 2013
    Lexington, KY
    My name is Grace and I am starting a small, backyard coop and am getting 2 hens. I'm nervous because I've never done this before but I love animals and I think this would make me happy. I became disabled in my back and right arm about 9 months ago, and I am going to do a lot of research before I make my purchases. I have a pretty small outdoor space, but I found the most attractive coop on Amazon with lots of great reviews. I have to get lots of information because I will worry about my new hens. I don't want them to be cold or sad due to being in a small space. I want them to be so happy, or else someone with more space should have them. I'm really big on my animals being very happy, it's the most important thing to me. Of I think they are sad, ill in turn, be very sad. How much space do I need for 2 chickens? And the eggs will be a bonus. I love the idea of having my own eggs. God bless all!!

2. Chicken Goddess

Chicken Goddess Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi Grace! welcome to backyard chickens![​IMG]

Taking care of chickens is quite difficult at first because you wouldn't know much about chickens. but as you start to bond with them it becomes easier.

Firstly, i recommened buying chickens and coops at fodders stores rather than the internet, especially when buying live animals. just take note that buying chickens online means they will come as baby chicks. baby chicks are pretty hard to look after and need continouse maintenance.

Secondly, chickens eat pellets, wheat, fruits and vegetables. BE CAREFUL there are foods chickens can't eat. check out the learning center to find some stuff they dont eat. there was a info page but i can't find it. SORRY

thirdly, you need a nice sized garden or yard for 2 chickens. as long as they have grass, dirt and plants to hack around in, they are fine.