New member!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by raebow92, Nov 26, 2013.

1. raebow92

raebow92 New Egg

Nov 26, 2013
    Hello, everyone! I'm Rae. I live in Wisconsin and I'm 24 years young.

I've been playing around on this site for a few months now but just signed up today because I wanted to make a post about a problem I'm having. You can see it here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/839990/duck-picking-on-chicken-pics-included#post_12393864

My boyfriend brought home 2 ducklings and 6 chicks (3 white, 3 red) that he bought at Tractor Supply in March. I was furious! He set up a brooder in the kitchen and I hated those birds with a passion. Here we are, 8 months later, 10 ducks and 4 chickens. I have totally changed my feelings towards these birds. I spend my free time adding pins to my Clucks & Ducks board on Pinterest, looking at coops here at BYC, taking pictures of my birds, making them hot breakfast while I eat cereal... the list goes on and on.

I also am a "mom" to 2 dogs, a cat and 3 ferrets.

We built a tiny coop for the 8 birds boyfriend brought home. It worked out great for them. It's very small but it does the job. We soon figured out that our 2 ducks were male and female! The female is a giant pekin and the male is an indian runner. So in September, we decided to incubate some eggs! We put 22 eggs in the incubator and 1 month later we had 9 baby ducks. Unfortunately, shortly after moving them outside, something attacked 1 so we have 8 now. Over the summer, we lost 2 of our red chickens, one due to sickness and the other due to an attack. That is how we currently have 10 ducks and 4 chickens.