Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chyatt24, Aug 4, 2014.

1. Chyatt24

Chyatt24 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2014
    Hi, my name is Christina, and I'm new on this forum (and new to chickens!) I'm currently waiting for my order of chicks from Chickensforbackyards.com. I've ordered three different chicks that I think will be good starter chickens and egg layers: 1 Buff Orpington, 1 Silver Laced Wyandotte, and 1 Light Brahma, all females. I think they should be arriving August 8-9th, so I'm very excited :) Since I'm completely new to this, I've got a lot of questions despite all my research, so if anyone is able to answer them, it would be much appreciated!
    We've got a large plastic bin set up for the chicks, with pine shavings for bedding and a heat lamp and water dispenser. As far as chick starter goes, should we get medicated chick starter or just regular? I also read that mixing a small amount of plain yogurt and a little warm water with the chick starter helps to prevent pasty butt. Does anyone know if this is true? We're still looking for a good coop as well. We're located in Maine, so we have very cold winters, so we need a coop that will hold up against Maine weather and will keep our chickens warm once they're living outside. Any ideas for insulating the coop once it gets cold?
    Any other tips/advice would be wonderful!
    Thanks!
    ~Christina

2. ronmauldin

ronmauldin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2014
    Rhode Island
    Welcome from the Ocean State!

I start mine out on medicated starter feed for the first few weeks. As far as pasty butt, I find some ACV in their water does the trick.

Check out the Learning Center and keep posting any questions you have.

3. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

Good luck with your flock!