1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by OurVirginiaAcre, Jun 14, 2015.

1. OurVirginiaAcre

OurVirginiaAcre New Egg

Jun 14, 2015
    Hi there! I am relatively new to chickens. We got our first ones in October 2014, some full grown and two almost ready to lay pullets. We have no experience with chicks or eggs or culling. In fact, we really need to build a good coop, because we just threw something together last year.

We started with 7 birds (1 rooster and 6 hens), but two hens had silkie heritage and were too beat up on by the other birds, so we re-homed them. The rooster was a feisty little thing (Japanese bantam - LOVELY!). But he and my 6 year old didn't get along (and he could fly), so we re-homed him, too. And then one of our remaining hens suddenly died this year. She was fine one day and dead the next, but not a mark on her.

Not exactly sure what the remaining 2 white and 1 red are. They were given to us from someone who bought them at Tractor Supply. They were all clearly mixed breed, and they lay brown eggs. Some people say the white are Leghorn, but they do not look anything like Leghorns (too fat and calm) and they lay light-brown eggs. The red might be some hybrid like Red Star or Golden Comet. She also lays brown eggs, and they are a bit bigger. Between the 3 we get 1 egg nearly every day, so none are super-prolific layers.