New mom of 4 unknown type of chickens- From Michigan

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Janie1972, Jun 8, 2011.

1. Janie1972

Janie1972 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2011
    Hi, my name is Janie and I am brand new to chickens. I just acquired 4 from an individual on Craigs list. She was real nice and said her classroom hatched a bunch of chicks and at three weeks, she needed to get rid of them. They are 4 weeks now and I have no idea what breed they are. They seem fairly large for 4 weeks and the two black ones have a green tint to their feathers. The brownish ones are very pretty and they are mottled brown and white. Both kinds have feathers going down their legs already. I wish I could upload pictures, I will try soon. My husband and I built a really cool chicken tractor that we have them in. We have not completed the box and they seem fine bedding down in the grass. They seem to love the chicken tractor but I get them out a little bit every day.
    A friend told me about backyardchickens.com and I love it! I am a working mom of 3 kids: 19, 16 and 4. Married for 19 years and love my job as a dispatcher.
    I also have a Westie, 2 cats and a fish.
    I would love some help figuring out what kind of chickens I have. I also don't know what sex they are either. I am really hoping they are not all males!!

2. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    [​IMG] and [​IMG] from Ohio. So glad you joined. It sounds like you may have some cochins on your hands. When you post your pics. Do it under the What breed/Gender section. You will get more help there. [​IMG]

3. sallihennipenni

sallihennipenni Out Of The Brooder

Jun 6, 2011
    Central Illinois
    Hi Janie!