New Muscovy keeper - advice needed

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Catie79, Aug 19, 2014.

1. Catie79

Catie79 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2014
    Mont Vernon, NH
    Hi, I'm new to BYC and I have my first Muscovies showing up this weekend. It's three ducks and a drake, all adults, from a local farm. We're getting things set up and want to check to make sure we're not heading for disaster.

1. We don't want them to take off as soon as they arrive, so we're going to clip the wings on one side and keep them in their pen for the first week before free ranging. We want them to know where the food is, what people are providing it, and to associate 'duck duck duck' with a hand full of cracked corn. Too long? Not long enough? We taught our laying hens to come this way and those girls can run like the wind when they think 'chicken crack' is being tossed.

2. The pen is 8x8x8 and will only be used for tucking them away for the night. It has a 4x8x4 box attached to give them a place to get out of the weather (New Hampshire, so we get some nasty Nor'easters in winter). Enough room for a night time pen, or do they need a 8x16x8 pen?

3. Do we need nest boxes for September? Would September ducklings even make it? We're going to let the moms handle any brooding duties.

Thanks so much for any help, we're very excited. We want to get these guys working the woods ASAP since the mosquitos this year are outrageous. We've got about an acre of wooded area with water running through it for them to manage. I'm hoping they get too fat off of bugs to fly!

2. Onlyducks

Onlyducks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2014
    My six muscovies are in a pen that is about 8 by 16 feet. They are fine as long as I let them out to free-range in the daytime.