New old coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by brains, Jul 29, 2013.

1. brains

brains Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2013
    Geauga County, Ohio
    I am very new to this and do not have chickens yet but thought I would try it out since one of the previous owners had a coop that he left behind. Now I am trying to figure out how to move it up a steep hill covered in rocks. I think I will disassemble and rebuild to avoid destroying it while moving it.

Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated. I plan on adding a run that would be about 4 ft wide by maybe 10 ft long
    Thanks
    Ed

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. brains

Jul 26, 2013
    Geauga County, Ohio
    Updates since I am impatient. I am thinking I might move the nesting boxes to an add on to the back
    Ed
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. jetdog

jetdog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2013
    Massachusetts
    Good luck with the move.Having the boxes on the outside is nice no poop on the feets.I have a 10x10 dog kennel for a run, Easy to wire in sides top and bottom, Got it on craigslist.

4. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Nice! :thumbsup

5. brains

Jul 26, 2013
    Geauga County, Ohio
    Today was the big move day. My dad and I disassembled the old coop and either carried or put straps and chains on it and towed it up a hill through the prickers and then reassembled. Tomorrow hopefully the siding and then the run

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

6. ChirpyChicks1

ChirpyChicks1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2013
    Nicely done! [​IMG] I think having the nesting boxes accessible from the outside will be helpful, I didn't bother with my coop but it was built more like a shed, plenty of room for me inside :) What I'm using for a run right now is also a dog kennel, something like 12'x7'x6'. You have to predator proof it, but it's really nice (and easy) to use a kennel. Are you cleaning it as you put it back together?