1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

new project question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ameraucanacrazy, Dec 11, 2009.

1. ameraucanacrazy

ameraucanacrazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2009
    macon,ga
    i was wondering if i cross a blue male over a fawn and white female

what color would i get

2. Goat_Walker

Goat_Walker I Am THE Crazy Duck Lady

Jul 9, 2008
    Maryland
    What breeds? Do you know what colors are under it? My Fawn and white runner drake crossed with my blue fawn buff cross female gave me a light blue colored duckling and a buff colored duckling. Im not really good with genetics though

3. ameraucanacrazy

Feb 11, 2009
    macon,ga
    i dont know what you are talking about when you say under color

4. pardygwyn

pardygwyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Blue's recessive, which means there has to be two copies of the gene for it to be expressed - that is, for the duck to actually be blue. The under color is whatever color the blue is covering up. That's why it's helpful to know what breeds we're talking about. [​IMG] Though that makes me wonder... are there any blue ducks whose blue isn't covering black? And is black dominant the way it is in dogs? I'm great with dog coat color genetics, but would have to slog through the genetics discussions here to see what's what with waterfowl. Maybe I should instead of posting. LOL

5. CityChicker

CityChicker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009