New roo for my flock - Now the stupid Roo Question?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chickpeep, Sep 18, 2011.

1. Chickpeep

Chickpeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2011
    West Kingston
    We just received a new rooster from a friend. We both ordered our first flock of chickens together this year and we ordered together to save money on shipping. We got on extra bird. Yeah we thought. Since we lost two in shipping, and he didn't want as many birds are he ordered, he took the extra chick. Guess what the extra chick turned out to be? Anyway, He couldn't handle the rooster and has two 8year old twins that the rooster was chasing and pecking. I have 15 RIR chooks, and now one RIR Roo and I am new to having a rooster around and a few questions came to mind. They are all the same age, about 19 to 20 weeks old.

1. Will he get all the girls in the broody hen way or does nature provide an off switch for him once he has completed his job? I don't want to loose all my eggs because all the girls are being mamma's.
    2. He was aggressive to the previous owner. I am a bit less liberal and am trying to get him to know me and accept me before I turn him loose with my girls. I have him in a separate pen for a bit. He gets all his attention from me. Including me picking him up and carrying him around my property talking to him in a calm and gentle manner. The girls hang around him sometimes during the day but don't stay there all the time. Will I be able to get him to be less aggressive or am I just wasting my time?
    Any help out there. I looked and searched for these type of questions but couldn't find anything. Lots of other stuff but not these in particular. [​IMG]

2. maybejoey

maybejoey got chickenidous?

Some need a little bit more excitement and some need a little less. I have a one that needs almost none at all ( shone in my avatar)[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 18, 2011
  3. DianeS

DianeS Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010
    Oregon