New Serama owner, up north- Too Cold?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Bocktobery 10, Oct 30, 2016.

1. Bocktobery 10

Bocktobery 10 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2010
    I am currently a happy serama mamma of 8 four month old seramas. I am new to this breed. I admit that I foolishly didn't research as thoroughly as I usually do before making any animal purchase. I assumed that seramas would be exactly the same as regular chickens which I've had for the past 6 years. Since they hatched, I have been reading about them more and I discovered that seramas do not do well in the cold weather. Unlucky for me, I live up north east of USA. While the temperatures don't usually stay in negative digits, at night at some times of the year it is possible. I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with this and if so, can they help guide me for what I'd need to protect my tiny chickens?

I am wondering it is true that they can die in temperatures under 40 degrees F? Is there some sort of small safe heater I can purchase that will keep them from freezing? Do I have to bring them inside the house for the winter, and if so, how much space will it take? Also, two of them are roosters- how do you keep them from not waking you up at 4 am when they crow in the house?!

I keep mine in an 8 by 8 by 8 foot 'room' of my coop with insulated walls- however not all of the coop is insulated- I am almost certain that the windows are possibly drafty. I'd like to keep them outside all seasons if that is possible. Are there such things as barn heaters or coop heaters? I really do not want to use heat lamps or anything where a fire could happen. Are those chicken warming mats suitable? Would that keep them warm enough in the minus digits? Are they a fire hazard at all?

By the way they share the coop with regular sized chickens, but are in a separate 'room' in the coop, so if I put heat in there, the rest of my standard sized flock will get some heat too... is this bad?