New Silkie Hen Crying??? I'm a Chicken Newbie...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by fruggiechick, Mar 18, 2013.

1. fruggiechick

fruggiechick Out Of The Brooder

Feb 21, 2013
    South Texas
    Yesterday we brought home 2 RIR Hens and a Partridge Silkie Hen....the RIR seem fine in there temp enclosure....but the Silkie wont stop crying...Are the big girls picking on her? I watched them for about an hour and no one seemed to be misbehaving....she can get to the water and the food with no issue...she kept trying to roost on the high roost and I made a smaller one for her and she sat on it for a while now she wont stop her crying....she sounds so pathetic....she was in a very small coop with about 5 or 6 other hens when I picked her up yesterday....it seemed really really crowded in there....maybe she misses them....also there was an small light brown egg layed this morning....it could be hers? Do they cry when you take their eggs away.?

Please forgive me these are my first chickens....we have lots of other animals just never had chickens before...I don't want to be anything but a good chicken momma [​IMG]

2. 1) She misses one of her friends back from where she used to live. My one hen (fluffy) got sick and I had to take her inside, so her friend who is always with her (Angel) was looking aimlessly for her. Two days later I found her dead one morning... Then my other Hen (Grumpy) Started to cry and sound Really weird like she was depressed and stressed. She is still alive today and she hasn't really stopped but its been more than a month now... She could miss a friend she stuck to.
    2) She could be wanting privacy to lay her egg. My one hen does that. A hen will do that until the other hen gets out of the coop...
    3) She probably wants attention, you're Attention. My head hen (Lulu) Does that. She will do it all day until I hold her on my lap and pet her for a while.