new, southern california

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chickenwho, Dec 26, 2010.

1. chickenwho

chickenwho New Egg

Dec 25, 2010
    1. Brand new to BYCF: ) duh... WOW! never realized there was so much to chicken gathering! What a goldmine to find BYCF.
    2. Researching New Hampshires and came across BYCF.
    3. Would like to raise New Hampshires for meat and eggs, mainly meat.. after perusing this forum with vigor, i am starting to think another breed may be more approapriate?
    4. Wasn't aware it was going to be difficult to acquire quality stock - thought it was as simple as a trip to the feed store : )
    5. I have about 1 years experience with chickens, so far successful but have through trial and error figured out what I am trying to accomplish (Eggs AND Meat).. and i am ready to go with a single breed and New Hampshires are my choice. At least .. WERE.. my choice. Nothing against the breed, but it seems they are not really a "meat" bird any longer? Or at the least are difficult to acquire good stock.
    6. Didn't realize they were a thinning breed
    7. Number 6 has made me determined to acquire a good stock of NH and raise them for years to come : ) But after a good nights sleep, I'm thinking maybe it would be easier if i went with a different breed for primarily meat, secondary... eggs....

WEll all righty then... i've read lots of info here. thought i was ready for a flock of dual purpose chickens. Not sure what i want to do anymore : ) I'll keep reading , contemplating, planning and preparing......

Ahh.. email in... a gentleman, I'll assume : ) I contacted through BYCF replied back and his opinion and input was that i may be interested in "buckeyes"... so I'll investigate that breed ..... THANKS to all. tom

2. easttxchick

easttxchick Lone Star Call Ducks

Aug 3, 2009
    [​IMG] from Texas!

3. WhiteMountainsRanch

WhiteMountainsRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2010
    Sandy Eggo, CA
  4. WhoopiePie