New Sumatra owner with ????

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickengrl, Dec 20, 2010.

1. chickengrl

chickengrl Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    Hello, I am new to chickens and and DH has at least been around them as a kid. We recently aquired a black Sumatra roo and 3 blue hens while at a poultry show because we both just loved how beautiful they are. So, we got them home and did the 30 day quarantine out in our big horse trailer. They were as healthy as ever and we moved them out to the coop with the rest of the chickens. (marans, EE, BR, BO, SLW). They are in a separate section with chicken wire keeping them apart. We were thinking to keep them like this for 1-2 weeks and start letting them free range with the rest of the group during the day. Well, after doing some more reading I am starting to worry that they might not be content to range about and then actually return to the coop. In fact, I am picturing these rather wild birds flying into the trees and thumbing their beaks at us when we want to put them in coop lock down. [​IMG] We do not currently have a run of any kind but plan to build one for when we won't have someone home. So, any Sumatra owners out there with words of wisdom? I really hate to lose these birds before we even get to enjoy them! Thanks! [​IMG]

2. easttxchick

easttxchick Lone Star Call Ducks

Aug 3, 2009
    I haven't lost a free ranging Sumatra yet. I haven't found them to be as "wild" as I've read about.
    Mine return to the coop every evening and one of my hens is always one of the first on the perch.
    As far as the "thumbing their beaks" at you, yeah, that part is true, they tend to be a bit of an arrogant bird. My contention is that they know how beautiful they are and aren't afraid to show it. [​IMG]

Edited to add: [​IMG] from Texas!

Last edited: Dec 20, 2010
  3. chickengrl

Sep 30, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    Thanks EastTXChick,