New to baby chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by debbie2885, Sep 16, 2016.

1. debbie2885

debbie2885 Just Hatched

Sep 16, 2016
    Hi everyone, I am new to raising chicks, I ordered 15 pullet and got 17 they are now 2 weeks old they are all doing good except for 1 she was fine then one day I was checking on them and she seemed extremely tired and isolated herself I put her in a kennel by herself to watch her she would not eat or drink the next day she could not walk I started giving her drinks through a dropper pedialight mixed with water every 30 minutes to 1 hour. I am also giving her vitamins poly vi solution without iron days later she seems to be more alert but still cannot walk she can move her legs but can't walk or even sit up. Anyone have a clue what's wrong with her? Anything I should be doing that I am not? Please help.

2. BuffOrpington88

BuffOrpington88 Non-Stop

Mar 20, 2012
    Hi and welcome to BYC! It sounds like you're taking great care of her. If you post in Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures, folks there should be able to help out. Best of luck and thanks for joining us!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Howry from Kansas and :welcome. Pleased you joined our flock. Best wishes!

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    People getting new chicks seem to lose one or two in the early days. Either from failure to thrive ,internal defects or disease. I would take her to a vet if possible - to see what you are dealing with and if it will spread to the others.

5. debbie2885

debbie2885 Just Hatched

Sep 16, 2016