new to back yard chicken

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dragonflylover1, Aug 20, 2014.

1. dragonflylover1

dragonflylover1 New Egg

Aug 7, 2014
    Excited to be a part of this board. This is my first time raising chickens and I have so many questions.. all the way from what kind of chickens do I have to what they can and can not eat.
    I will put pictures up so I can find out what kind of chickens I have.
    They are all very very sweet and I love them so much.
    Dragonflylover1

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! You might like to check out the BYC Learning Center, lots of good articles on all aspects of chicken keeping you'll find helpful. https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    You can put up pictures of your chicks in the What Breed/Gender forum if you want help figuring out what kinds you have www.backyardchickens.com/f/15/what-breed-or-gender-is-this
    There is a nice Chicken Treat article in the Learning Center https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/chicken-treat-chart-the-best-treats-for-backyard-chickens and this is a fun thread on what treats people feed their chickens https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/407549/what-treat-did-your-chickies-get-today

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. Kelsie2290 has given you some good links to get your questions answered. If you want to post some pics of your chickens here, we can take a shot at identifying the breeds for you as well. Please feel free to ask any other questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your flock.

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture