New to Backyard Chicken Life!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by sxhexp, Apr 6, 2018.

1. sxhexp

sxhexp In the Brooder

Mar 18, 2018
    Hi there! My name is Sam and I am VERY new to chickens! I got the bug when I had seen that my neighbors were raising chickens and the eggs were wonderful! I have the perfect place on my property to put a decent sized coop and room for the ladies to run around so, why not? I’m newly retired and have more time to garden and it would be wonderful to add chickens to our family.

I have been doing a LOT of research on all things chicken and all sites end up on “BackYard Chickens”! The site is teaming with sage ideas and wonderful ideas so I’m looking forward to being a member!

2. Texas Kiki

Texas Kiki Egg Pusher

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
    Teila, 007Sean, Joeschooks and 3 others like this.
  3. ronott1

ronott1 A chicken will always remember the egg

Mar 31, 2011
    Woodland, CA
    My Coop
    It is great having you here! It is a great place to learn about chickens and talk with other chicken owners

4. Pork Pie

Pork Pie Flockwit

Jan 30, 2015
    Hi Sam and welcome to BYC

Here’s a good link where you’ll find lots of information on almost every aspect of keeping chickens - from coop building ideas, to incubating eggs - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/

There’s a link on the page above to the Learning Centre - it’s a great resource. If you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

You can use this link to contact members in your area - Find Your State Thread

Best wishes

Pork Pie

Teila, 007Sean, Joeschooks and 3 others like this.
  5. N F C

N F C is it nap time yet?

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    :welcome