New to Backyard Chickens ( new mom flock and to BYC )

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by lynly444, Dec 26, 2016.

1. lynly444

lynly444 Just Hatched

Dec 21, 2016
    I live in PA Schuylkill county IM SO EXCITED about started my new and 1 st Flock I'm also new to BYC but learning my way around all the goodies you have packed on this site this is now the third time I have tried to Post this message I can't find the other 2 but that's OK
    Wanting to know the hatchery you think is the best how soon should I order silkies sizzel or frizzle
    Husband only wants 3 1male 2 female's I was thinking a few more female's these are going to be Pets they will not free range like the big ones
    PLEASE KEEP IN MIND MORE OPPIONS THE BETTER
    I WANT THEM IN APRIL 1_3 DAY OLD CHICKS WORK M ON COOP NOW HELP ME

THANK YOU LYNLY444

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Welcome to Backyard chickens. First, a rooster can handle 10 hens. If you are only going to have 2 hens, they will be overbred to the point of injury. Second ,silkies are one of the most difficult breeds to sex before 4-5 mos. of age. Sometimes they cannot be sexed till they crow or lay eggs. Buying any very young chicks - you may end up with all males.
    If someone offers you guaranteed sexed baby silkies, I would walk away fast.

You could check out the "silkie thread," to find out more about them.

3. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Hatcheries vent sex chicks. I don't believe Silkie are any harder to vent sex than another bird. Hatcheries are 99% accurate sexing birds but use 90% for disclaimer for statistics of small orders. They may get it wrong 1 in 100 but that one gets sold and typically in a box of dozen or two so it throws off their actual track record and why the need to claim 90%.

Silkies are extremely hard to sex without vent sexing and that is a learned skill.