New to backyard suburban chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mcdowell89, May 22, 2019.

1. mcdowell89

mcdowell89 Chirping

May 9, 2019
    Hello I am new to the whole backyard suburban aspect of chickens. I do not have my chicks yet but have ordered 4 through Meyers hatchery ( I am a little nervous about getting them through the mail) . I will have a silver laced wyandotte, gold laced wyandotte, black australorp, and an easter egger. Since I can not have any roosters where I live I chose a variety of hens. I have one daughter 10 yrs old she is wanting a silkie any ideas on how well the silkie and chicks I have coming will get along are more than welcome. I tried to choose pretty docile breeds just by doing some online research. Our family consist of me, my husband, our daughter, and our 4 dogs. All my dogs are well mannered and I dont foresee any problems with the chickens except my dachshund, I am a little nervous as I know they can be prey driven I am kinda hoping hes scared of the chickens. Any advice on dogs meeting chickens for the first time and how to introduce is welcome as well. I guess I should mention I grew up in a rural area we had chickens, geese, horses, and goats growing up till we sold the property and home so I'm not completely in the dark when it comes to taking care of them but this is my first time getting some and starting in a more suburban setting. Feel free to drop and tips or suggestions starting out with my new chicks.

fldiver97, sourland, 007Sean and 9 others like this.
  2. Texas Kiki

Texas Kiki Egg Pusher

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC.
    Don't introduce the dogs to the chicks is my advice.
    I learned the hard way.

3. Leahs Coop

Leahs Coop Free Ranging

Nov 5, 2018
    Oklahoma
    Hello,:frow and welcome to Backyard Chickens! It's great to have you here with us and I hope you'll enjoy this site as much as we all do!

4. penny1960

penny1960 Going back to La La Land