New to BYC Starting out by hatching!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CraziChic, Oct 15, 2013.

1. CraziChic

CraziChic Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2013
    In the Middle of Nowhere
    Hi
    I need help hatching some chicks. I made an incubator, but it is small. For the first 4 days I carried them around on myself, so they might be scrambled. I candle them, and I see nothing happening in the two i carried around yet. The other 4 are only 2 day old incubated. I have 6 in the incubator. Again I am new to BYC and to chickens. I don't even have any chickens yet. I will be buying them around next Saturday, but I wanted to try and hatch some. Thanks!

2. countrygoddess

countrygoddess Chillin' With My Peeps

Yeah, probably not a good idea to carry around the eggs. Why did you do that, can I ask? How long have all the eggs been in the incubator? What temp and humidity have you been keeping it at? By day 3 you should see spidery veining beginning to happen. It can be harder to see in darker eggs. If you check again on day 7 you should see a black dot that is the embryo and often, it is moving about.

1 person likes this.
  3. CraziChic

Oct 15, 2013
    In the Middle of Nowhere
    I was incubating them while carrying them.[​IMG] I'll look and see if I can see what you are saying. The temp is about 98.5, and I have no idea about the humidity... I don't have a hydrometer, and they are too expensive. If somebody knows how to make one or something? I don't have enough money to buy one.[​IMG] I'm just using a thermometer they gave me at the place where I go to get educated.[​IMG] I use a heat lamp to heat it, and I'll try to put pics, but idk if i'll be able to.[​IMG]

if I gave too much info about myself, plz don't ban my account, I really need to know what people think and what I need to know to hatch the chicks.

4. CraziChic

Oct 15, 2013
    In the Middle of Nowhere