New to chicken illnesses

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by EggHead83, Nov 26, 2016.

1. EggHead83

EggHead83 New Egg

Aug 14, 2016
    In the past 6 weeks I had two pullets die at approximately 20 weeks. Same symptoms, as they first became listless and lethargic and then their wings began to droop and they kept their head tucked into their body. Next they would basically lie on their side and shortly thereafter they died. This process occurred over a few days. Today I noticed one of the pullets demonstrating similar characteristics. I have limited experience with chickens and zero experience with determining illnesses. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I don't want my entire flock to suffer the same fate. Thanks.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    The best possible thing you can do for your flock is to take or send the sick one to your state poultry lab for humane euthanasia, necropsy and lab work. You've already lost 2 and another on the way. That way, you'll know what is afflicting them, if it can be cured and what treatment is necessary.

There really is no other way. No one can guess from the dozens or hundreds of things it could be without lab work.

What state are you in?

1 person likes this.
  3. EggHead83

EggHead83 New Egg

Aug 14, 2016
    Ontario, Canada

4. DwayneNLiz

DwayneNLiz ...lost... Premium Member

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    is there any blood in their poop?
    are they losing weight, how does their keel feel?
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 26, 2016
  5. ChickenCanoe

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
  6. EggHead83

EggHead83 New Egg

Aug 14, 2016
    Fortunately Guelph is the closet urban centre to my property. Thanks.

7. EggHead83

EggHead83 New Egg

Aug 14, 2016