New to Chicken Raising In TX

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Susan0264, Sep 17, 2012.

1. Susan0264

Susan0264 New Egg

Feb 22, 2012
    I'm new to raising chickens! [​IMG] My husband received a dozen fresh eggs from someone at work and my interest was piqued! I started reading about back yard chickens, then soon found out an acquaintance had chickens. I went to her home to see her chickens and I was hooked!!!! She has since become a very good friend and my "walking encyclopedia" of chicken knowledge!! I've yet to find anything she doesn't know! I have since found out that another neighbor had chickens and a very large bobcat (!) came into his yard and took his chickens as his Father-in-Law stood at the window and watched!!!! I don't live in the country or the woods so this really has me freaked out! I grew up in the city so the prospect of wild animals, other than birds or squirrels, coming into my yard to eat my pets is scary!

Anyway, I want my coop and everything set up and ready to go before I get my chickens. I am looking at a used coop with PVC pipe for the feeding and a 50 gallon water barrel included. My friend thought this was a great coop, so I'm going see it tomorrow.
    I have already read a thread on BYC about how to clean it before I put my chickens in. The hard part will be figuring out how to move it! [​IMG]