New to chickens and coops

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Hoppersway, Feb 7, 2017.

1. Hoppersway

Hoppersway Just Hatched

Jan 22, 2017
    Hi I am new to this ... I am going to build a coop that is 8x8 for 4 chickens. But I am not sure how big the house needs to be... I live in Dallas so winter and summer is crazy! Any help would be awesome !

2. ChickenGoesRuff

ChickenGoesRuff Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2015
    Iowa
    Welcome to BYC! I assume you want to make sure the coop is large enough, which 8x8 should be, especially for only a few chickens. I have heavy gauge mesh on the insides of my coop's opening windows to let fresh air in. What breed(s) are you planning on getting (or have currently)? Again, welcome to the addictive world of chickens!

3. FlyWheel

FlyWheel Chillin' With My Peeps

My suggestion? look in the "Coops" section and read up on the coops other's have built. Look at the pros and cons that others have discovered about each and decide on the design that would best serve your purposes. If you have any designing or planning skills, you may be able to design out the bad points. That's what I did for mine.

4. Hoppersway

Hoppersway Just Hatched

Jan 22, 2017
    I have not picked a breed yet. Still trying to figure it all out. I do want eggs and maybe some meat. I just want to make sure that the house part is big enough. Looking at 4x2 or do I need more?
    And glad to be here. Been reading all the posts and trying to learn....

Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
  5. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado