New to Chickens and this Site so Questions...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rheared, Mar 1, 2016.

1. rheared

rheared New Egg

Feb 28, 2016
    Greenville, SC
    Hi all! I'm the proud owner, along with my husband and three children, of 3 RIR and 2 Barred Rocks which are a week old tomorrow. This is my first time with hens, but I've been reading books for a year to get ready. (I bought raising chickens for dummies, lol.). We are enjoying watching our new little ladies and ridding our girls of pasty butt. They all had it and this caused them and us a little discomfort. Is it usual when buying chicks from a feed store for all of your pullets to have it? Heir feet were covered with feces and black globs as well. Is this cause for concern? I didn't want to further stress my girls on their first day home.

2. KeyFlock

KeyFlock Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2015
    Kansas
    [​IMG] I'm glad you joined us!! I haven't bought chicks from a feed store for a few years, but ever since I stopped I haven't had any problems with pasty butt. If you haven't already, make sure you check out the learning center; it's full of information!

3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - great that you have joined us. I can't really comment on pasty butt since i only use a broody hen to raise chicks and i have never seen that problem ever.

As KeyFlock says the Learning Centre, you'll find a whole host of resources on all things chicken.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center