New to Chickens, Breed Advice Requested

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mmww621, Feb 27, 2012.

1. mmww621

mmww621 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 27, 2012
    North Florida
    Hello All!

I discovered this site recently while exploring chicken ownership and love all the information and friendly advice =)

Finally convinced the hubby to get on board with starting a small flock and just wanted some input from the experience here, very excited but no chicken knowledge! We live on a little farm w/ horses, dogs, and cats, I worked through college at vet hospital and I'm an animal science graduate so tons of ag time, just not anything with wings!!

I plan on picking up 3 sexed pullets from our feed store in a week or two, and would love input on my breed selections. We live in North Florida so pretty nice weather year round, just super muggy in summer lol! I am thinking about Auracana (for egg colors), Buff Orpington, and Rhode Island Red. Feed store gets in a few other breeds if anyone thinks something would be better suited, lemme know! I have a 2 yr old son and human baby #2 due in October so docile/friendly temperament is most important to me with decent egg production. Coop will be in the yard near the house and chicks will be in brooder in my bathroom so they will probably become part of family pretty quick!

Also, in terms of #2 baking in the oven, any special precautions anyone would advise? I'm a farm girl so totally wash hands lots, don't roll in poo, and all that = )

Thank so much for the advice!!!

Meg

2. Country Chickens

Country Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2008
    Orange County, NC