New to chickens but wife and I are giving it a go.Love animals and love eggs.How can I go wrong?lol

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chasingthedream, Nov 29, 2014.

1. chasingthedream

chasingthedream Just Hatched

Nov 28, 2014
    Hello,
    I'm Jeff.I'm new to this.Ready to start though.Have old horse barn.I thought about taking tack room which has concrete flooring and door way into and outside.I was thinking I could build run off of back door.Am worried about hawks where I'm at so think I will take advice of many to only let out when my wife or I are out with them.I live in Southern Mississippi so because it gets cold at times was looking for suggestions on good docile laying breeds and meat birds if SHTF.Only way I could eat them.Anyways will continue researching plan on starting first of march.Will update as I learn from my mistakes.But this forum I think heads me in the right direction.

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us.

You may be interested in the Mississippi thread: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...-crooked-letter-ahh-nevermind-mississippi/960

Folks in your area may have recommendations on breeds to select.

Personally, I don't allow my hens to free range for predator fears, but if you only let them out when you are in close proximity they will be safer.

Good luck with your plans. Check out the articles in the learning center, there's a lot of great info in the articles. Feel free to post questions. The forums offer a wealth of experience.

1 person likes this.
  3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    welcome to the Backyard chickens flock, hope you enjoy BYC as much as we do.

1 person likes this.
  4. N F C

N F C gobble gobble Premium Member Project Manager

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming