New to chickens - Favorelles- Brahma- Dorking-Orpington

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Inkheart, Aug 15, 2010.

1. Inkheart

Inkheart Songster

Aug 15, 2010
    Columbus Ohio
    Hello all -
    I am new to chickens and have become crazed. I have been reading and researching and have gotten about 30 back issues of Backyard Poultry from a friend . I have gone to auctions - fairs etc. I have my search narrowed down to Favorelles- Brahmas- Dorkings- And orpingtons. Space wil lnot be an issue - but i want a gentle - docile- friendlier chicken. Something that is good for a newbie to care for. With that said my best friend has had chickens all his life ( he has Japanese Fantails and Cochins)so i have a good source of knowledge there - Any advise - comments - suggestions would be great. I do love some of the bantams D'Uccles and D'anvers - but am afraid that they would not be good for an inexperienced "Dad"

Thanks in advance for your help! [​IMG]

2. joletabey

joletabey SDWD!!!!

Apr 9, 2009
    western NC
    I hear good things about Buff Orpingtons, and I will put in a word for Delawares. The bunch of Dels I have are super friendly, personable, several like to sit in my lap, and the rooster is good natured also. They are good egg layers, and aren't too terribly noisy.

3. buffbeauty

buffbeauty Songster

May 13, 2010
    Central Arkansas
    Definitely orps and favs. Bantam favs are so cute! Both come in several colors for variety

4. Morgan7782

Morgan7782 Dense Egg Goo

Mar 22, 2010
    Sacramento CA
    I have one LF Dark Brahma who is awesome. I got her as a 5 month old so she isn't TOTALLY tame, but she is very willing. She has been 'mothering' my two 14 week old Wyandottes in the month I have had her. She seems to be pretty hardy. I have heard Brahma's tend to be broody as well, so I didn't start off with them for that reason.