New to chickens, from Mer Rouge, La

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Shdyldy28, May 15, 2011.

1. Shdyldy28

Shdyldy28 Out Of The Brooder

May 14, 2011
    Mer Rouge, La
    Hello everyone! I'm extremely new to chickens. As a matter of fact I don't even have any right now. For the last few days I have been obsessed with reading everything I can get my eyes on about raising Banties. My daughter (14) and I have fallen in love with these little guys. We are determined to have them!!! My hubby has just laughed at me the whole time. Telling me that he has never seen me get into anything as much as I have gotten into these chickens.

I've been able to find the answers to my questions so far, except for one. And I really figure I already know the answer to this, but I feel like I should ask:

I am wanting to have a few different breeds of chickens, (all banties), do I need to have a rooster for each type of pullet I have to ensure to get the same type of chick, and if so do I need to keep the different types seperated?

With that being said, I'm gonna go ahead and post this and get beck to my research. It is very, very informative.

Thanks so much!!!

2. lizage

lizage Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    [​IMG] from IN!

3. 10 point

10 point country boy

Feb 19, 2011
    LaFayette, NY
    [​IMG] from NY and good luck convincing your husband

4. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:Hello and welcome to BYC, from Connecticut! I was the same way when I was contemplating chicken-keeping; I couldn't get my hands on books quickly enough or research on the internet enough! Not much has changed either, except that now the BYC forum is my ONLY source for information when I need answers. Go the experts, that's my philosophy!