New to Chickens in General - need some advice

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Whovian007, Jan 31, 2013.

1. Whovian007

Whovian007 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2013
    Central Iowa
    My hope/plan is to start raising chickens this spring but I'm new to just about everything regarding chickens so some questions:

When is the best time to order or buy chickens or eggs? I live in Iowa and at the moment it is freezing outside, but we start warming up around here in March or so (though side note we've been known to have 65 degree temps one day and the very next be in negative temps...) I don't know if that influences when things should be ordered.

Okay and then Chicks or Eggs? Being a newbie would it be better to start with the little fluffies or the solid rounds?

Also then, is it better to buy baby chicks found in the farm supply stores or to order? Pros cons to both?

And then we are wanting layers with future possibilities of Saturday picnics, and Sunday dinners, but I think we want primarily layers - what breeds in your opinions are good for beginners and egg production?

I know I'll be researching in the Learning Center link as well as just browsing the forum for info, but thought I'd ask for some of all y'alls opinions and thoughts on the subject, much obliged for the help!

2. Puddin Fluff

Puddin Fluff Overrun With Chickens

Mar 30, 2012
    River Valley, AR