New to chickens in Texas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chickenewbie08, Oct 2, 2016.

1. chickenewbie08

chickenewbie08 New Egg

Oct 2, 2016
    Texas
    Hi I'm new to raising chickens. We have 4 production reds that have yet to start laying. They are around 9-10 months now. I'm thinking it's just been way too hot here in Texas. We have a chicken tractor that we built our selves. Thanks for any help!

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

3. kajira

kajira Overrun With Chickens

Aug 6, 2016
    Texas
    I'm in Texas.

You need to freeze gallon ice jugs and put them out there for them to lay against when it's hot. Put some in their water to cool it down, give them frozen fruit/veggies or even popcicles when it's REALLY hot to cool their core temps down and get a mister. If they are on dirt, soak the wood/cage/floor etc and it will act kind of like a swamp cooler, cooling things down as it evaporates. We are home enough that we do this a few times a day during the hottest part of the afternoon.

The gallon water jugs frozen last all afternoon for them... and they LOVE the frozen veggies/fruit and popsicles the kids give them.

There are birds better in the heat than others... but making sure you have shade, and using frozen water and other techniques, your birds can survive.

Smaller birds, like bantams, silkies, Cochins and many others, do better in the heat. The larger the body mass, the worse they do in the heat here.

1 person likes this.
  4. chickenewbie08

chickenewbie08 New Egg

Oct 2, 2016
    Texas