New to chickens, old to animals

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ladyanne57, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Ladyanne57

Ladyanne57 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2015
    Southwest Ohio
    Hi - just saw this thread and thought I would go ahead and post. I am a small animal veterinarian in southwest Ohio who swore (after one really bad poultry lab in vet school) that I would never have anything to do with chickens! However as my life goes on and I visit friends who have small flocks I decided - once again - that I should never say never. Six chicks are coming to join our small farm at the beginning of next month, and this site has already been so much help! We are scrambling to get their accommodations built and the weather is hindering us but I feel sure we will be up and running by the time the chicks are ready to be moved outside. Thanks for a great website and Facebook presence.

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC!

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Chicken folk could always use another small animal vet that would tend to chickens/ducks/ etc. Welcome to Backyard chickens.

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]I'm glad you joined us.

What breeds of chicks are you planning on getting?[​IMG]

5. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] I'm glad you joined our community!

Good luck with your future chicks!

6. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us!

7. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana