New to Chickens-one hen is a bully

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by gibsterl, Sep 20, 2012.

1. gibsterl

gibsterl Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 3, 2012
    New Hampshire
    Hi-
    I am new to chickens-I have 4 chickens that are ~14 mos old, 2 barred rocks and 2 NH reds, additionally 2 15 week old barreds. All are hens.They were all introduced together in the coop the same day. All came from a place with alot of chickens including roosters. The first day there was some aggression towards the little girls but everyone was able to eat and drink-there was just some chasing and pecking but none of it serious. Now after 5 days the little girls refuse to come out of the coop at all. I placed feed and a waterer outside and inside so all would be comfortable but today they had a hard time getting to the feeder inside too. At night once all are tucked in to their roost they are ok. One of the older Barreds is the most aggressive....so can I expect this to continue or might it improve as the little girls get bigger-what advise can anyone give- Lynn

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

It will get better, but it'll take time...that's a big age difference. As long as feathers aren't being yanked out or combs aren't being bloodied, I would just chalk it up to pecking order for now. If it's still this rough a month from now, then I might try another tactic. Youngsters will be chased away from food/treats...that's pretty typical. If they chase a few steps and let it go, then that's normal. Now if they corner someone and keep pecking/attacking, that's NOT normal.