New to Chickens - what Breed?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Country Dreamin', Jan 25, 2011.

1. Country Dreamin'

Country Dreamin' Out Of The Brooder

Nov 29, 2010
    Hi All,

I am sure you get this question alllllllll the time, but i'll ask it again!

I am new to chickens, i will be setting up a flock this spring/summer. I would like to have some layers and some meat birds.

They will have a coop but will also be free-run outside.

Here is what i am looking for in a laying hen breed:
    -winter hardy
    -friendly and calm, easy to handle, good with kids
    -aesthetically pleasing - cool colours
    -comes in a variety of colours
    -heritage breed

So far the breeds that have caught my eye are:
    Auracana, Americana, "easter eggers" (sp?)
    Dominiques
    Welsummers
    Orpington
    Brahma
    Plymouth Rocks

It looks like the poultry places i have been in contact with make you order a minimum of 4 per breed. Since i am only starting a dont want a huge flock so i would like a breed that comes in different colours.

For Meat Birds i would like a bird that does not have leg issues, fairly active and colourful as well as friendly. Any ideas for a meat breed?

Also, i will be feeding myself, husband and 3 big dogs. How many layers to start with and how many meat birds for a newbie? We all love chicken and the 5 of us could eat an egg a day for sure.

Thanks for your help!

2. SillyChicken

SillyChicken Overrun With Chickens

Jan 12, 2010
    Salmon Faverolles are also a good dual purpose (meat and eggs) bird, they're a french heritage bird. Winter hardy, very docile, go broody easy though. Not alot of colors in the hens unless you go with a breeder (there are a few variations in color and a few breeders on site).. otherwise they're a standard cream and tan color. The roo's are pretty and haven't seen any agression in them at all!
    [​IMG]