New to Chickens working on a coop design ...please give advise...

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Old Crow, Nov 22, 2009.

1. Old Crow

Old Crow Out Of The Brooder

Nov 22, 2009
    Well as the title says I'm new to chickens never owed even one before ......

I am looking to build and prepare a coop for a spring flock .... Mind you I live in Michigan and this will be a home for next winter as well

Been doing some reading and studying a bit and this is where I am so far please advise ..... [​IMG]

Front ..View ..(Door removed for viewing ) this will be 8'x8' with an 8'x8' run the front will be 8' and the rear 6'

[​IMG]

Side with nesting Box

[​IMG]

Rear

[​IMG]

Run End

[​IMG]

Features ......

External Feed Box

[​IMG]

Water Collection and supply

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Baby / Introduction Box

[​IMG]

Roost and catch board

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  2. alicefelldown

alicefelldown Looking for a broody

Aug 18, 2008
    Everything looks fine to me should be a lovely coop.

I am though questioning your rain water collection and dispenser - are you planning on filtering that water? Maybe I'm wrong but if a wild bird poops on the roof, I don't think I'd want my chickens to drink that contaminated water.

3. Old Crow

Nov 22, 2009
    Quote:Good point .... Not sure didn't consider it ..... that's why im here asking the experts ... [​IMG] ....

Thank you
    OC

4. alicefelldown

alicefelldown Looking for a broody

Aug 18, 2008
    You could have the water runoff feed a small garden - our coop/run has a small salad garden growing next to it, tasty treats for the girls that they can reach through the fence and enough salad for the humans!

Where did you create that design?

5. DragonFeathers

DragonFeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 27, 2009
    Maryland
    First of all [​IMG] , glad to have you, it's a fun site for learning