New to chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Varrington, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Varrington

Varrington Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2017
    Hello,
    I'm brand new to raising chickens. Due to health issues I can no longer eat commercial eggs and organic eggs around where I live are way too expensive. So, I started my small coop with five hens. They are only about 12 weeks old. Just moved them out of their brooder to their main coop. I know that I will not be getting eggs until late summer or fall. (Just in time for the winter production to slowdown).
    My young ladies are afraid not the nesting boxes and would rather lay in the dirt by the waterers. I have tried feathering and use the same material that was in their brooder. Any ideas for this beginner?

2. BYCforlife

BYCforlife Overrun With Chickens

Mar 18, 2017
    Canada
    Hello! [​IMG]!

If your chickens are not laying eggs yet, they will have no need for a nesting box. (yet) Do you have a roost for them? They like to sleep on a roost.
    If you really want to get them used to the nesting box, you could buy a couple of plastic eggs and place them in the nesting box.

Have fun!

Last edited: Apr 17, 2017
    1 person likes this.
  3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, Varrington, and [​IMG]! Great to have you in our community! Depending on the breed you have, if they are 12 weeks now, I think you should start expecting eggs in June!! And as for lounging in the dirt...that's just what chickens do - dust bathing. The dust helps control parasites plus if they are warm and the ground by the waterers is damp, it's a way to cool off as well - nothing to worry about. If you haven't done so yet make sure you read up in the Learning Center - it is packed with informative articles on all things chicken and will help you as your ladies grow. Here's the link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center