New to chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lee912, Apr 20, 2018.

1. Lee912

Lee912 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 20, 2018
    Loganville GA
    Hi, I am new to chicken raising, I have always wanted to raise chickens and now I have achieved the dream! :D I currently have 4 chicks (wanted to start off small, see how it goes) 2 Rhode Island Reds and 2 Asian Pullets. They are about 3 weeks old at this point and the coop is ready for them when they are old enough. I also have 3 dogs, 2 Boston Terriers and a Chihuahua that have not really had any contact with the chicks but then again I think that's a good thing.:p Anyway that's it for now, thanks in advance for the advice and information!

Teila, rjohns39, 007Sean and 4 others like this.
  2. IvanK

IvanK Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2017
    Manitoba
    Hi!

Welcome to the amazing world of chickens and congrats on realizing this dream.
    You'll be learning on the fly and it never seems to stop. As your chicks grow, make sure you keep researching and asking questions so you have the info before you need it. Chickens aren't overly complicated but it's best to be prepared/informed.
    Ok, so based on the information that you've shared I'll comment on your dogs. Simply put, don't let any of them near those chicks and you'll want to think twice once they are grown. While there may be some chicken friendly breeds, some dogs have too much of a hunter/play toy instinct. I believe terriers are the latter and you'll probably need to keep them away from the birds for good. As for your chihuahua, they're pretty feisty and I know one that kills rabbits and rats...not much of a nurturing breed...cute and loyal though!
    So all that being said, I would prepare accordingly. If you need to make changes to your layout, now is the time before you chicks get older.