new to chickens

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by DaveBoy, Jan 30, 2011.

1. DaveBoy

DaveBoy Out Of The Brooder

Jan 28, 2011
    I'd like to have a few chickens for the fresh eggs and the added bonus of fertilizer for the rest of the yard. My problem is I'm a total novice with chickens, I know nothing about them. With that in mind, I have a few questions. First off, how many chickens will I need to get roughly two eggs per day? Secondly, I'm uncomfortable allowing them to have free run of the yard (will they escape over a six foot fence for instance) so I'm thinking of keeping them in an enclosed pen area. I would put some kind of cover over it for security against predators since I've had a mountain lion in my yard before. Will they be happy enclosed permanently in such an area that is roughly 10 square feet per chicken? Thirdly, right now the pen area is dirt with wood chips. Is that OK? Is there something better? How about artificial grass? Fourthy, my spouse and I leave for four or five days at a time about three times a year with no reliable person to take over chicken duties. How long can they be left unattended? Of course they would have hopefully adequate water and food. Any help you can provide would be much appreciated. Much thanks in advance. Dave

2. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer

May 11, 2010
    [​IMG] I'll let the pros answer all your questions.

3. ChooksChick

ChooksChick BeakHouse's Mad Chicken Scientist

Aug 17, 2008
    Larry, KS
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Take a look at my BYC page , as there are a gazillion articles there to help new folks out.

Hope it helps, and holler at me if you have any questions!
    [​IMG]

4. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Welcome to the forum!

Your best bet is to read, read, and read some more. Here's a good book to start with:

http://www.storey.com/book_detail.php?isbn=9781603424691&cat=Animals & Farming