New to Chickens!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by woofie83, May 16, 2011.

1. woofie83

woofie83 New Egg

May 13, 2011
    I am new to Backyard Chickens and am very glad to have found this site. I got my first chicken a week ago. A friend called a week ago and asked my husband if we wanted a chicken and he agreed. My first thought was "Wow, what am I gonna do with a chicken?" I had absolutly no experience:cool: in raising them and no clue what to do! But when I got home and laid eyes on this beautiful 2 month old chick I fell in love! I wanted to know everything I possibly could to raise and take good care of her. Thats how I found Backyard Chickens. I only have just the one chicken but I plan on getting more very soon. Im not sure what breed of chicken she is, all i know is that she is 2 months old, a girl, and very friendly and a pretty rusty red color. My husband is going to build a coop very soon. I am from Largo, Florida and have 2 children who are also very excited about raising chickens. We also have a 2 yr old American Bulldog/ Border Collie mix who is a big sweet baby. My favorite hobby is to cook for my family and my husband loves to experiment in the kitchen right along with me. I also enjoy growing vegetables and hot peppers. I am looking forward to enjoying some fresh eggs and maybe even a few tasty birds if I dont get to attached to them all. I am also looking forward to this new adventure and to learn new things from Backyard Chickens and all of you! ~Kristen A.~ AKA Woofie83
  2. dkvart1

dkvart1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2010
    Kristen [​IMG]

Glad you found your way here. You'll find a great group of knowledgeable chicken lovers here and information on all things chicken. Enjoy your new chicken adventure!
  3. mlward

mlward Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2010
    Tuscarora, NY