New to chickens! :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ClydesdaleSocks, Dec 17, 2013.

1. ClydesdaleSocks

ClydesdaleSocks Out Of The Brooder

Dec 17, 2013
    South Carolina
    Hello everyone!

My husband and I just purchased a 17 acre farm and also bought a huge chicken coop (picture below) that came with 3 Buff Orpington hens (18 months old). I have a BS in Animal Science but my background is horses and cattle - I have no chicken experience. The guy we bought the chickens from said he would get 2 eggs a chicken a day in the summer and an egg every other day per chicken in the winter. I thought the stress of moving would cause the ladies to stop laying for awhile but they started laying a couple days after we moved them, albeit less than expected. The last coupe days they've picked up to their expected "winter" rate - we're getting 2 eggs a day now. They get complete free range during the day and are locked in the coop (with it's attached 8 foot enclosed run) at night. We've been told the coop could easily hold about 20-25 chickens.

So I guess my first question would be how do I know how much feed to give them? I know they're going to supplement with their foraging.

Oh and we're located in upstate SC so we have pretty mild winter and hot, humid summers. [​IMG]

I look forward to talking to everyone and learning about chickens! :)

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Congratulations on your new home, and welcome to BYC. OK, an egg a day is the maximum that you can reasonably expect. If they were mine, I would provide ad lib layer pellets in a sheltered place. Enjoy your flock. You don't give dimensions, but that coop and run look too small for 20 or so birds.

3. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California
    Welcome to BYC! sourland gave you good advice good luck to you.

4. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan